New Direction for this Blog

It’s always good to have a plan. Knowing what you need to do is rarely enough, though. If you’re like me, you can’t rely on dumb luck, either. Some plans are easily formed. My plan to get my Master’s in Library and Information Science, for instance, was a piece of pie. (Note: I realize the saying is “piece of cake” but I’m more of pie man. So I took a little poetic license, what of it?) Even wanting to focus my LIS degree and finding no such focus existed presented nary a problem. I just used my electives to do it myself. Other plans are a tad more troublesome. What to do with this blog, as you’ve probably guessed by now, is one of them.

It’s been over 6 months from my last entry and in that time a wee bit has happened. I spent the better part of January searching, applying, and waiting for library jobs. February saw me preparing for and then going to interviews. March I spent tying up 14 years of work at Partners. April was the first time since Y2K was still seen as a near miss that I found myself in an unfamiliar working environment. While all this was going on, I was fighting my way through my last class at Simmons. May was a false reprieve. Sure, I graduated and was starting to get my feet under me at the Wilmington Memorial Library, but my better half and I spend the month searching for real estate agents and lawyers and trying to placate tenants, property management people, and housing authorities. At the end of the month the bane of being a landlord finally ended after four long years. I’m not sure what the hell happened to June…

So that’s the long-winded way of saying “I’m sorry for being away from these pages for so long.” But now I’m back and have one of those fancy plans. While I’m sure there are those of you out there that wouldn’t mind simply reading my unfocused ramblings, being in a job that I truly enjoy has made me want to focus the entries found here. So that’s what I’m going to do. I canvased the digital community and found blogs that provided reference questions of the week, others that focused on the legislative side of the library field (net neutrality anyone?), and of course there are plenty of reader’s advisory blogs. But as it’s been said in many a place, stick to what you know. Since I’m a technology librarian, I’m going to write about technology in the library.

Future topics will include printers (because they demand attention, like, always), eReaders and video capture software. I admit, some of the delay in my return was being intimidated by the blank page. I was waiting to have the perfect post with which to make my grand re-entrance. I realize the folly in that. So, while I promise to write regularly, the posts will be concise. The idea of filling a short blank page is caused my knees to knock less. If you have any technology topics on which you’d like me to write, leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

