Cube Software Gives Me a Hard Time

Cube 3 Software's My Shelf Page

On the same day as the adventures outlined in the last post, I started to have problems with the cube software. It hung when sending something over the wireless network to the printer.

When I closed and reopened the software, it wouldn’t actually open for me. So I uninstalled it and reinstalled it. I had the Cube 2 software installed on that laptop and so I reasoned the two of them were battling for registry keys. If that was the case, I figured uninstalling both and then reinstalling the Cube 3 software should resolve the issue. No dice.

So I installed it on another laptop to take the original laptop variable out of the equation. ‘Twas the same old song and dance. So then I installed it on a Mac we have. Wouldn’t you know it? That worked just fine.

That got me printing new objects but wasn’t a viable solution. I’ll be eventually taking the show on the road and the laptop I’ll be lugging around with the printer itself runs Windows. So I opened a ticket to support.

They got back to me rather quickly (kudos to them, for prompt replies isn’t always a given when it comes to vendors). The first thing they asked for were the app logs. So I opened the Cube software to give me the error again (this saves me from having to dig through the logs) and hopped over to Event Viewer. When I downloaded the 3 errors I noticed that .Net was barking. But I waited before doing anything.

A few days later the fine folks at 3D Systems had me check my .Net and Visual C ++ installations. The software needs .Net 4.5.2 and C++ Redistributable 2012. I only had .Net 4.5.1 and C++ 2010. So I upgraded those two apps and presto chango, the software works! They said the installer checks for the correct versions but doesn’t always work, thanks to firewalls and anti-virus software. I’d buy that but I wish there was a list of system pre-reqs for the software so I could check to make sure I was running the right version. Ah, well, I can’t say I’m too displeased with all that’s gone wrong, I’m certainly learning a lot.

That’s it for this week. Tune in next week to hear about my adventures with a meddlesome cartridge.

Leave a Reply

