What Do you Get When You Cross a 3D Printer with a Doctor Who Fan?

3D Printed TARDIS and Sonic Screwdriver

TARDIS and Sonic Screwdriver

We’re working on finalizing the policy of use for our 3D Printer. In the meantime, folks that have come to one of my numerous demos occasionally send me a file to print. While I can’t do this all the time, I don’t mind printing out files because it not only gets me more familiar with what can go wrong with a print job but also introduces me to some pretty neat-o stuff. Yes “neat-o” is the technical term. Not to be confused with Lion-o.

Not too long ago, I printed a TARDIS and Sonic Screwdriver. I had been sitting on this file for a while because I wanted to see if I could get some blue PLA to print it with. But I couldn’t say when that would happen and asked the patron if she’d mind a white TARDIS. She replied what what I’m seeing as a trend in the 3D printing community “Sure, I’ll just paint it the right color.”

The object was larger than the print plate, so I had to scale it down in order to print it. It came out just ok in my opinion. The edge of the Sonic Screwdriver was a little sloppy. Even though I specified supports, they weren’t printed on that part of the object. It wasn’t an utter failure, but I wish it came out better. Also, the scaling seemed to compromise the level of detail. This, too, is a trend. It seems that even though the printer prints out layers that are .008″ thick, it has trouble with fine details. In this case the words “Police Public Call Box” on the sides didn’t come out. You can’t see it in the picture above, so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

All in all, I’d say it was a success. The inside of the TARDIS has the steering column or whatever you call the computer part of it. And we can see it because the top of the box comes off. Checkout the pictures below.

3D Printing TARDIS Inside

The inside of the TARDIS

3D Printed Sonic Screwdriver

Sonic Screwdriver

Leave a Reply

