Sandpaper Meet Print Plate

…Print plate meet sandpaper.

Divots and glue residue are the arch enemies of the z-gap. If the distance between the print plate and the print jets isn’t the same across the plate , bad things can happen. That’s where the li’l beauty below comes in. It’s 380 grade sandpaper. That’s an insanely fine grade. In fact fine grade starts at 100. So this sandpaper is almost 4x more fine (finer?) that the staring point of the grade.

A 380 grade brick of sandpaper

I call him Chuck…you were expecting Sandy weren’t you?

I felt uncomfortable taking a piece of sandpaper to the print plate. I mean isn’t it wearing away the plate little by little? Yes, it is, but there’s really nothing to help it. It’s just the nature of 3D printing. There are bound to be dimples in the print plate thanks to some print jobs that take a while. Plus, while the glue does come off with warm water and soap, sometimes I put too much glue on there and the heat of the print heads bake it on. So enter Chuck.

One final word of warning: use Chuck (or whatever you name your sandpaper) in a well ventilated area. I was using it in my enclosed office and not only got plate particles all over my pants but also in my throat. Got me a nasty cough for a few days. I know to some of you, this is an obvious precaution but I wanted to mention it so that those of you that are like me and over look it can have a helpful reminder.

Leave a Reply

