Registering a Kindle

kindle-touch

A couple of days ago, I had a tech help session with a woman who was making her first foray into the world of eBooks. She purchased a Kindle and that’s as far as she got. So, allowing for the unknown complications that are inevitable, I sat down with her to get her going.

The Attempt

The first step was signing her up for an Amazon account. That went off without a hitch. Then, since it was a Kindle Touch, we went through the following menus:

  1. Hit the Menu button on the bottom of the device.
  2. Go to and hit the Settings option.
  3. Go to and hit the Register option.
  4. Hit the If you already have an Amazon account option
  5. Type, using that oh-so-fun keyboard, the email address she used to sign up for an Amazon account
  6. Type the password for that account. 
  7. Go to and hit the Submit button

That should have been it. But the laws of technology are ruled by Murphy. In the stead of, y’know, actually registering the device, we got the following error:

The e-mail address and password you entered do not match any accounts on record. Please try again

The Troubleshooting

So we went through these troubleshooting steps:

  1. We retried her password. Since the Kindle Touch doesn’t have a touch screen, using the keyboard is like trying to log into your Netflix account on a smart TV; moving the cursor to each letter and choosing it. I figured she just mis-typed it. No dice.
  2. We went back to my laptop and had her log back into her Amazon account. She got in without a problem. So the password she was using on the Kindle was correct.
  3. We then tried to register the device using my Amazon ID. Same error.
  4. At that point I thought it best to keep the Kindle and contact Amazon. That way she could go about her day whilst I troubleshot (troubleshooted?). I explained my error and got the cloying “Oh no we’re so sorry, let me check into that!” response. Or words to that effect. Support was able to register the device using my name. But when I asked what the problem was, they basically blew me off.
  5. So then I de-registered my ID from the Kindle and tried to register one of the library IDs. Wouldn’t you know it, I got the same error.
  6. I frowned a lot and scratched my head.
  7. Then I went about my day thinking I’d come back to it after a while. Clearing my head often yields positive results. In course of doing this I noticed an email from Amazon. In it was a verification code. It seems that Kindles now have 2 Factor Authentication. So I tried using that verification code. Still no luck.
  8. More frowning.
  9. Then I actually read the entire email. It seems that I have to use the verification code within 10 minutes or else it expires. So I tried to log in with that library account again but this time after I got the error message, I went to the email address, snagged the verification code and tried that. Eureka!

The Correct Method

So here’s how one is supposed to register a Kindle Touch. I don’t have a Kindle Fire with which to verify this, so if you know what the process is (even if it’s the same) please comment.

  1. Attempt to register the device with the email/password combo that you use to log into your amazon account. This will fail. Fret not.
  2. Go to that email address and retrieve the verification code.
  3. Type that verification code in the password field on the register screen.
  4. Cry “Huzzah” and relish your victory over an overly complex technological procedure.

If, for some reason, your Kindle is de-registered, all subsequent registrations will use your normal email/password combo. Not the verification code. 

2 thoughts on “Registering a Kindle

  1. Thanks so much for posting this! I had no idea I was getting a verification code. Once I read this post, I checked my email, entered in the code and it worked like a charm. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

