Digital Divide Podcast

Interpretation of the Digital Divide showing a small bag of money on one side of a valley from a big bag of money. Across the valley is a series of papers to act as a bridge

One of the reasons I decided to go into public libraries and not academic libraries upon finishing my Master’s degree was because of the dastardly Digital Divide. For those of you whom may not know what the Digital Divide is, Merriam-Webster defines it as:

the economic, educational, and social inequalities between those who have computers and online access and those who do not

My library takes an active role in building this bridge through such things as my one-on-one tech help sessions. The sky, or should I say cloud (what? I shouldn’t? A-hem. Well OK then.) is the limit. I help patrons with eReaders, email, websites, social media sites, anything they ask. While I don’t claim to have all the answers, I can do some research beforehand to find a particular one. If that doesn’t work, then I can show them how to use Google and our databases hidden behind paywalls to get the answer. They’ve proved muy popular in my time here. I had 160 sessions in 2016 alone. But the thing is, I don’t make house calls. So that means patrons must come to the library for tech help. Until now.

One of those aforementioned sessions was with a lass from WCTV, the Wilmington local access cable channel. We went over some of the basics of computers and she found it so helpful that she thought we ought to do it again. This time in podcast form. So we did. Our first episode of Bridging the Digital Divide can be heard here:

I’m excited about this. Not only is it a fantastic example of how libraries can partner with companies to meet the patrons where they are but it also provides me with a chance to use new (to me) technology. I’ve never been in a recording studio and it was fun to drop some killer beats. Well, maybe not killer beats (I need to stop saying that don’t I?) but a useful recording in the very least.

Stay tuned for more episodes.

Leave a Reply

